The faith community of Basilica of St. Michael the Archangel welcomes you! We hope you find our website helpful. If you need more information, would like to register as a parishioner or need assistance from a priest, please call us at (850) 438-4985.

Again, welcome in the name of Jesus Christ!


The Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church

  • Baptism
    Baptism is conferred once. The person being baptized is cleansed with water, and baptized in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.
  • Confirmation
    Confirmation completes the Gifts of the Holy Spirit given to us in baptism, and strengthens us to live our Christian lives.
  • Holy Eucharist
    Eucharist is the communal meal we share during Mass, gathered around the altar. It is Christ’s Body and Blood, the sign of the new covenant He gave us at the Last Supper.
  • Penance/Reconciliation
    Penance/Reconciliation is the forgiveness of sins on behalf of the Church and the community. A priest, in a private manner, hears a person’s confession of sins, and offers counsel and absolution.
  • Anointing of the Sick
    Anointing of the Sick asks for God’s healing and strength to those who are ill, facing surgery or serious medical treatment or are dying. That person is anointed by the priest, who prays on behalf of the Church for spiritual and physical healing, should that be God’s will.
  • Marriage
    Marriage is a sacramental union between man and woman, uniting them for lifelong partnership that seeks the sanctity of each, and is focused on the nurturing of children, who are a gift from God.
  • Holy Orders
    Holy Orders is the gift of service to the Church that some men are called to. They may serve as deacons, priests and bishops. Their role is vital to the life of the Church, and they give their lives so that the Church can continue to celebrate the sacraments and spread the Gospel.


The Catholic Church teaches that there are seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance (or Reconciliation), Anointing of the Sick, Marriage and Holy Orders. As Catholics, we believe that these sacraments were instituted by Christ so as to make God’s grace accessible to the faithful.

  • The sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist are referred to as the Sacraments of Initiation. Having received all three, a person is fully initiated into the Catholic faith.
  • The sacraments of the Anointing of the Sick and Penance/Reconciliation are known as the Healing Sacraments. The healing may or may not be physical; these two sacraments focus on spiritual health.
  • Holy Orders (received by a man who is ordained a deacon, priest and/or bishop) and Marriage are Sacraments of Service.  These sacraments are undertaken in service to the “other:” a faith community, a diocese, a school, a mission or one’s own spouse and family. The desire of both of these vocations is to help the other gain Heaven.

All sacraments have both an outward sign and an interior reality. This means, we truly see something taking place, and grace is conferred but that is a reality which remains hidden.